THE FUTURE OF COLLEGE TUITION – Implications Post

Something I have continually reiterated in my blogs is that I am concerned about the future of college tuition. Tuition at public universities in North Carolina this past year rose an average of 4% for in-state students-a number that totals to about $250 at UNC Chapel Hill. From year to year this doesn’t seem terrible, but in 8 years that’s $2000 more if it continues to rise at the same pace.

What will realistically happen if tuition at universities continues to rise at a similar rate in the future?

By 2030, college tuition at a private university could cost as much as $130,428 $130,428 per year based on studies that were conducted. Public universities could be charging $41,228 per year. I’ve talked about how rising tuition continues to negatively affect lower income students and affects diversity on campuses-but with prices like these even the 1% could have more difficulty affording college tuition.

From a study conducted in 2014, a child that was 18 at the time would likely pay $76,967 for a college education at a public university. But for a child 18 years from now, that estimated cost will be $185,259.

Average tuition at public universities has risen an average of 6.5% in the last decade.

By 2030 if 4 years of a college education at a public university costs a total $205,000, it won’t just be the lower income classes that have a problem with affording college.

In my first post, I wrote how I wanted to talk about this education issue because my grandparents had immigrated from Lithuania with hopes their future generations would have more opportunities. If college tuition continues to rise as it is predicted to, will I be able to give my children a college education to better their future? I’m not totally sure after looking at these numbers.

In my first post, I wrote how I wanted to talk about this education issue because my grandparents had immigrated from Lithuania with hopes their future generations would have more opportunities. If college tuition continues to rise as it is predicted to, will I be able to give my children a college education to better their future? I’m not totally sure after looking at these numbers.

Leave a Reply

